Volunteers Recognized for Excellence in Sports Announcing

 awards 1

Volunteers Recognized for Excellence in Sports Announcing

Three contributors have volunteered for a combined 21 years as broadcasters

Each year, viewers tuning in to the Miami Valley Communications Council (MVCC) Channel 21 can expect the best local high school basketball and football coverage in the region. Calling those games, and telling the stories of these student-athletes, plays a crucial role in cablecasting these MVCC Game of the Week events. On May 18, 2022, volunteers Andy Horton, Jeff Allen, and Jared Bergstrom were in front of the cameras to be honored for their excellence in sports announcing.

Announcer Andy Horton has been involved with MVCC since 2019, and Jeff Allen began 2017. Jared Bergstrom started in 2012. Together, they have contributed 21 years of service to MVCC and sports coverage in the Miami Valley.

“We are so fortunate to have the best announcers in the region,” said MVCC Government Producer Richard Diaz. “They work so hard at their craft; they know the school records, the plays, and the students by name.  This team is well prepared for each game, and their enthusiasm is always evident.”

MVCC’s announcers frequently are asked to provide both commentary and play-by-play coverage, communicate the history and details of the game, and perform live interviews with players and coaches. In addition, they often set up and help put away the production equipment that evening.

Jared Bergstrom was presented an additional award that evening, in appreciation of his ten years of sports announcing from 2012 to 2022. That contribution totaled over 1100 hours of volunteering with MVCC.

The Miami Valley Communications Council operates four cable access channels with cable providers Spectrum TV and AT&T TV. Complete program schedule listings, as well as on-demand viewing, can be found at www.mvcc.video. MVCC was formed in 1976 as a council of governments representing the eight member cities of Centerville, Germantown, Kettering, Miamisburg, Moraine, Oakwood, Springboro, and West Carrollton. 

awards 5